body, .innerbox p, .innerbox div, .innerbox font, .innerbox span, .innerbox td { font: normal 14px Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif !important; } Skip to main content

BUS 319 - Small Business Development

General Small Business Information Websites

  • U.S. Small Business Administration  
    This well organized federal agency site provides among other things, a business start-up kit, financing and SBA loan information, links to numerous outside resources (private and state), online library reading room, and much, much more. This should be one of the first sites to consult
    .
  • Business.gov  
    Business.gov is a result of 22 federal agencies efforts and is deemed the “U.S. Government's official website for small businesses.” It provides a wealth of information on all small business topics
    .
  • Small Business Advisor  
    Information International, an organization that advises and assists individuals who are considering starting or who are operating a small business, hosts this award-winning site. The site includes books, special reports, consulting services, and seminars as well as useful links on starting and operating a business, handling legal issues, and Web site and internet marketing. Extensive links on conducting business with federal and state government are included
    .
  • CCH Small Business Guide  
    The Small Office Guidebook is a highly substantive site. Major chapters include Starting Your Business, Planning Your Business, Getting Financing for Your Business, Marketing Your Product, Winning Government Contracts, and Controlling Your Taxes. The Business Tools section provides links to checklists, model business plans, forms, and other documents. The Human Resource Tools allows enrollment in free e-mail training courses
    .
  • Nolo.com Self-Help Law Center  
    Nolo (Berkeley, CA) has been a publisher of plain-English legal books, software, and forms for nearly 30 years. Everything published is regularly revised and updated by a staff of lawyer-editors. This site provides articles (with a sense of humor!) on almost any legal topic. The business encyclopedia contains information on business plans, financing, obtaining a business license, marketing, taxes and buying and selling a business
    .
  • Business Plan Guide / Navarro College Small Business Development Center  
    The business plan guide links users to reputable and quality resources when developing a small business plan. Researchers can also find information on franchising, demographics, industry information and more. It also includes tutorials on a variety of topics
    .