body, .innerbox p, .innerbox div, .innerbox font, .innerbox span, .innerbox td { font: normal 14px Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif !important; } Skip to main content

MHIS 118 - History of American Popular Music: Home

Popular Music Databases

African American Music Reference

This database contains, essays, images, text and liner notes covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

American Song (Music Online)
Audio Content

Discover American history through song - Includes songs by and about the American people as well as music from Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (ProQuest)

A specialized music database that indexes and provides full text for over 75,000 music-related articles.

Rock's Backpages

Rock's Backpages is the biggest online database of rock music writing in the world. It is a massive library of articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from the early 1960s right up to the present day. In addition to an archive of text articles, they also provide exclusive mp3 audio files of original source interviews.

Rolling Stone: Cover to Cover
Available on the Research Computers in the Library.

Search every page of every Rolling Stone issue from November 1967 - May 2007.  This easy to search archive, provides full color PDF's of every record review, interview, profile and article published during that period.

General Purpose Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Is a strong general purpose database that covers fields such as the social sciences, business and economics, general sciences, and humanities. Many of the articles are available in full text form.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a wide ranging database containing back files from many scholarly journals. The content in JSTOR begins with the individual journals first issue and covers up to about 3 years ago. JSTOR stands for “Journal Storage.”

MasterFile Premier (EBSCO)

Similar to Academic Search Premier, this database (created for public libraries) covers a variety of fields and also includes full-text from reference books and an image library.


Academic Search Premier - An Introduction

JSTOR - An Introduction

Rock's Backpages - An Introduction

McNally Smith Library Catalog

Search for Books, DVDs, CDs, and Scores in McNally Smith's Collection


Alexandria Researcher

____

Search other Minnesota Library Holdings

Search for books and articles in libraries across the state of Minnesota and have them delivered to McNally Smith using the InterLibrary Loan Form.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>